Research Committee

  • Perrin

    Research Committee
    Eliana Perrin, MD, MPH (2021)
    Duke University School of Medicine
    207 Glade St
    Chapel Hill, NC 27516-4438
    Phone: (919) -68-9891

Children and Clinical Studies

April 2015 Newsletter Article

Research is alive and well in the APA! From thriving practice based research networks to the Young Investigator Program to RAPID to the Research Scholars Program to Research in Academic Pediatrics Initiative on Diversity (RAPID) to recognition of excellence in research, all this is made possible by an outstanding Research Executive Committee. We are committed to promoting research both among those with established careers as well as among those in training.

At both PAS and at the Regional Meetings, research is a highlight of many of our discussions. Some Regions have instituted Trainee Research Awards (see photo).

This year we are delighted to announce the expansion of the Young Investigator Program to include an award focused on nutrition in underserved communities. We are most appreciative of the generous donation from the Karp family that makes this award in honor of Dr. Robert Karp possible.

Want to learn more about the Research Committee activities? Please join us at PAS at the annual meeting on Sunday April 26 at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront, Aqua D, 11:00 AM-12:30 PM. In addition to a recap of the Year in Review, this year, come join us for a lively panel discussion, "Everything You Always Wanted to Know About the Practice Based Research Networks in APA....But Didn't Know Who to Ask." Our panel features Jim Taylor (BORN), Jan Serwint (CORNET), and Karen Wilson (PRIS).  We also will bestow nine Trainee Research Awards to an outstanding group of early career researchers.

Finally, as my term comes to a close, I would like to thank the APA members for giving me the opportunity to serve as Research Committee Chair and to the dedicated Research Executive Committee members including: Iris Borowsky, Tony Burgos (BORN liaison), Georgine Burke, Kecia Carroll, Dimitri Christakis, Eve Colson (COMSEP liaison), Bill Cooper, Nui Dhepyasuwan, Benard Dreyer, Ruth Etzel, Glenn Flores, Gary Freed, Tanya Froelich (SDBP liaison), Jim Guevera, Donna Halloran, Janice Hanson, Betsy Holm (PRIS Administrator), Larry Kleinman, Chris Landrigan, Kandyce Larson (AAP liaison), Iris Mabry (AHRQ liaison), Shirley Russ, Janet Serwint, Samir Shah, Rashmi Shetgiri, Laura Shone (AAP liaison), Tamara Simon, Sara Slovin, Adam Spanier, Adiaha Spinks-Franklin, Raj Srivastava (PRIS liaison), Christopher Stille, Melissa Stockwell, Peter Szilagyi, James Taylor, Darcy Thompson, Megan Tschudy, Karen Wilson (Incoming Chair), and Whitney Witt.

What an incredible organization! Best wishes to the very talented incoming Research Committee Chair, Karen Wilson. Hope to see you in San Diego.

                                         Research Committee Award Winners

Recipients of the inaugural Region IV Trainee Awards. Pictured from L to R are: Callie Brown (UNC; Fellow Research Award); Eliana Perrin (UNC mentor for Callie Brown and Kaitlin Brandstadter); Kaitlin Brandstadter (UNC; Resident Research Award); Katherine Ottolini (Walter Reed; Resident Research Award); Carolyn Arnold (Johns Hopkins; Student Research Award); Megan Tschudy (Johns Hopkins mentor for Carolyn Arnold)

Back to Newsletter

Previous Newsletters




Renew Membership

Join APA


APA Journal